Quick Post: Fall Festival Fashion Trends

Happy Tuesday~! I woke up today thinking it was Wednesday, but luckily I gained that day of the week back. While I was at Austin City Limits Music Festival this weekend, I was on the lookout for hot fall-transition trends!

To start, here’s what I decide to wear on Saturday.  This look includes a skirt from H&M, shirt from Anthropologie (now only in black and white), crossbody macrame bag, a straw hat from Target, some earrings from Forever 21 (many years ago), and some black sandals!  My Sunday outfit was quite a bit more casual, including jean shorts, a razorback tank from Anthropologie with a cute bow in the back, and my cute blue and white striped slip-on boat shoes (sorry I couldn’t find a picture).

My outfit for Saturday of Austin City Limits  Musica Festival.

My outfit for Saturday of Austin City Limits Musica Festival.

I’ve been to ACL five times now, and I find it usually marks the last of summer for those in Austin, Texas. Many use it as an excuse to dawn short-shorts and bikini tops one last time, while other festival goers use it as a reason to bust out their newest fall duds. Despite Pantone’s announcement that emerald is the color of 2013, I found it to be particularly lacking in the festival fashions. The only place I really found it was on the tie of Passion Pit’s lead singer, Michael Angelakos.

Fuschia was seen paired with black and tan, usually with a hint of white.

Fuschia was seen paired with black and tan, usually with a hint of white.

Tribal patterns were frequent, again with a hint of white.

Tribal patterns were frequent, again with a hint of white.

What I did find was that neon is still very much present, with new and exciting combinations with neutrals for a bright but appropriate fall transition look. There were lots and lots of see-through layers, varying from woven and crocheted pieces to lace.

Neon green was again paired with taupe and black.

Neon green was again paired with taupe and black.

While this pattern doesn't do the colors justice, I saw a lot of woven layers.

While this pattern doesn’t do the colors justice, I saw a lot of woven layers.

Above are some of the favorite color combinations I saw, along with a surprising combination of my favorite color, aqua, and the supposed color of the year, emerald.  Another popular feature of many looks were cutouts, often paired with more layers.

When I did see emerald, it was paired with bright aqua to make it really pop.

When I did see emerald, it was paired with bright aqua to make it really pop.

I saw lots of stripes, including this combination.  However, emerald was definitely the background color.

I saw lots of stripes, including this combination. However, emerald was definitely the background color.

As a tidbit, ColourLovers is a great resource for creating color palettes as well as patterns. Although it appears difficult to save the image of your palette or pattern, I recommend simply using Print Screen (Ctrl+Alt+Print Screen, then Ctrl+C, then Paste in Paint) to capture your colors!

Tomorrow will be a post about how to create your very own customized ribbon storage out of vinyl rain gutters!

Until tomorrow,
|The Creative Physician|

2 thoughts on “Quick Post: Fall Festival Fashion Trends

Leave a Reply

