Cleaning Your Griddle (Or Grill) The Easy Way

I’d been afraid to use my griddle for almost a year since moving into our new house because I dreaded the cleanup.  I also knew that once I dirtied it, it would never be shiny silver every again.  However a few weeks ago, after prepping an entire meal to be grilled outside, it began to rain.  We decided it was the perfect opportunity to use the griddle for the first time.  We seasoned it (more on that later if you don’t know what I mean) with a little bit of grape seed oil and went at it.

GriddleCollage

The Before and After shot of my griddle.


Materials:

» Room temperature club soda
» Dish rag or paper towels
» Abrasive sponge or steel wool
» Baking soda (for the in-depth cleaning)

Griddle2

What it looks like if you try to clean your griddle with soap and water.

I knew I wasn’t going to clean it that night, considering I had no idea how, so I left that project until tomorrow.  Your first instinct is probably to clean your griddle with warm soap and water, but as demonstrated above this doesn’t do a whole lot.  Not only that, but it removes the protective seasoning from the surface of the griddle.  In general, avoid using soap on the griddle at all.

Ideally it is better to clean your griddle is cooling off immediately after cooking, rather than the day after.  However, it works just as well if you reheat the griddle on its lowest setting (ours is 200 degrees).  Once your griddle is warm, poor room temperature*** (this is very important– if your club soda is refrigerated, you can crack your griddle) club soda over the entire surface of the griddle.  Once it’s cool enough for you to touch, use a dishrag or paper towels to begin to scrub off the grease and grime.  Because I don’t use my griddle very often, I did this two times.  If you use your griddle often, it is probably best (as to not remove your seasoning) to only do this once just to remove the actual grit.

Griddle after one round of club soda treatment.

Griddle after one round of club soda treatment.

Griddle after two rounds of club soda treatment.

Griddle after two rounds of club soda treatment.

If you’re like me, and only use your griddle once a year or so (I’d say probably even once every one to two months), you can do the added step of pouring baking soda onto the extra dirty bits and scrubbing them off with an abrasive sponge or steel wool.  I love these washable scrubbing sponges by Scotch-Brite (I can’t find a link at the moment, but I’m pretty sure they carry them at Bed Bath and Beyond) because I can just throw them in the washing machine with my dish towels, and don’t have to worry about them growing germs and bacteria.  Yes, I know, it’s sad your griddle will never be that brand new shiny silver, but at least you know it isn’t going to grow anything in the mean time.  Be sure to season it by rubbing it down with a little bit of high-heat oil.  Seasoning between uses prevents the griddle from rusting.

Griddle with baking soda in tough to clean areas and dark spots.

Griddle with baking soda in tough to clean areas and dark spots.

If you use your griddle infrequently like I do, you will have to season it each time with a little bit of high-heat oil.  This helps prevent sticking and projects the surface of the griddle while cooking.  As stated above, seasoning after cleaning prevents your griddle from rusting.

In the end, maybe we should just cover it up so we don't have to look at it.

In the end, maybe we should just cover it up so we don’t have to look at it.

This technique  can also be used to clean your grill and is best done as the grill is cooling off.

Well I hope this helps your keep your home clean and happy! And also maybe makes you less afraid of cleaning your griddle or grill.

Until next time,

|The Creative Physician|

2 thoughts on “Cleaning Your Griddle (Or Grill) The Easy Way

Leave a Reply

